Here are some purchase options:

The Tower of Power Online Store

Download from I Tunes

Purchase CD From Amazon

Download from Amazon Digital Direct

Tower of Power Announces The Upcoming Release of the "Great American Soulbook"

Featuring Guest Appearances by:

Joss Stone, Sam Moore, Sir Tom Jones, and Huey Lewis

Funk icons Tower of Power, known for taking left turns musically, have taken a bit of a detour and recorded a collection of classic soul tunes that they have entitled the "Great American Soulbook".  Included in their latest release are a dozen Soul Essentials, some utilizing original style arrangements, some with a TOP twist, but all with the distinctive Tower of Power sound.

The CD consists of 9 songs produced by Emilio Castillo, Tower of Power's founder and leader since 1968.  Three additional songs were produced by multiple Grammy award recipient, George Duke.

The CD explodes with the first track, "You Met Your Match", a Stevie Wonder song masterfully handled by Tower of Power's dynamic lead vocalist Larry Braggs.

Track 2, Sam and Dave's "I Thank You", features Tom Jones and Larry in a  great rendition of a true soul classic that has stood the test of time with the Tower of Power Horns taking the song to a new level.

Further into the CD Joss Stone joins the party offering up two fine vocal collaborations with Larry Braggs.  Joss appears on track 4, "It Takes Two", and track 10, "(Heaven Must Have Sent) Your Precious Love".  In a quote from Emilio Castillo about Joss Stone he says,  "You are an amazing soul singer in a most unusual package. Quite frankly, I was stunned by your performance"  We think you will be too.

Sam Moore, who recently appeared at the Fillmore Auditorium with Tower of Power at their 40th Anniversary show, shines on track 7,  "Mr. Pitiful".  He brought down the house in San Francisco and his version of  "Mr. Pitiful" will bring a smile to the face of anyone who enjoys soul music.

Huey Lewis has been a close friend and a huge fan of Tower of Power throughout his career.  On  "634-5789" Huey delivers a rock solid soulful performance in a duet with Larry

Larry Braggs, familiar to Tower of Power fans worldwide, serves up incredible vocal performances on  "Loveland",  "Me and Mrs. Jones",  "Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel", and "Who Is He And What Is He To You". 

To satisfy the funky needs of all Tower of Power fans there is a 4 song James Brown medley that covers,  "It's A New Day", "Mother Popcorn", "There It Is", and  "I Got The Feelin".

Guests stars? cover tunes?  Something new and different for Tower of Power for sure, but rest assured this is a Tower of Power album through and through.  The newest chapter in the 40 year story of Tower Of Power, the "Great American Soulbook", coming soon from TOP Records!





01 You Met Your Match Larry Braggs
02 I Thank You Tom Jones/Larry Braggs
03 Loveland Larry Braggs
04 It Takes Two Joss Stone/Larry Braggs
05 Me And Mrs. Jones Larry Braggs
06 Startime (Tribute to James Brown) Larry Braggs
07 Mr. Pitiful Sam Moore
08 Heaven Must Be Missing An Angel Larry Braggs
09 Since You've Been Gone Larry Braggs
10 (Heaven Must Have Sent) Your Precious Love Joss Stone/Larry Braggs
11 634-5789 Huey Lewis/Larry Braggs
12 Who Is He And What Is He To You Larry Braggs



Larry Braggs, Lead Vocals / David Garibaldi, Drums / Roger Smith, Keyboards

Francis Rocco Prestia, Bass / Mark Harper, Guitar


Adolfo Acosta, Trumpet / Mike Bogart, Lead Trumpet and Trombone/ Doc Kupka, Baritone Sax

Tom Politzer, Lead Tenor Sax / Emilio Castillo, 2nd Tenor Sax